Posted on 09/05/2024 by ADMIN

Damilola Omotoyinbo

Damilola Omotoyinbo, winner in the Poetry category

(Photo: Courtesy)

The Writivism Literary Initiative has announced the winners of the 2023 bouquet of awards. There were distinct three categories : Short Story, Poetry, and Koffi Addo Nonfiction. Each category had two judges and the panel was chaired by Sumayya Lee. The other judges on the panel were: Ber Anena and Yaa Asantewa (Poetry), Paula Akugizibwe and Tiffany Kagure Mugo (Nonfiction) and Rešoketšwe Manenzhe and Juliana Lamy (Fiction). The resurgence of Writivism awards was in part to celebrate the mark our 10th-year anniversary ocf the literary initiative.

In February 2024, the shortlists (drawn from a pool of over 500 entries) were announced on https://writivism.org/the-2023-writivism-prizes/. The shortlistees were:

  • Chinua Ezenwa-Ohaeto,Chiwenite Onyekwelu, Obasiota Maryhilda Ibe, Damilola Omotoyinbo, and Kwame Boateng (POETRY)
  • Ekpenyong K. Collins, Tamani Tatiana Sale, Denyse Agahozo, Mlamli Tyulu, and Kosisochukwu W. Ugwuede (KOFFI ADDO ESSAYS)
  • Gabrielle Emem Harry, Hussani Abdulrahim, Davina Kawuma, Sanni Omodolapo, and Ella Ngwakwe (SHORT STORIES)

The eventual winners were:

  • Damilola Omotoyinbo (POETRY)
  • Mlamli Tyulu (KOFFI ADDO ESSAYS)
  • Hussani Abdulrahim (SHORT STORIES)


Related articles >



2024 (c) TheAfricanGriot.com

Website designed by Websoft Interactive

Contact Us

Nairobi, Kenya.

E-mail: admin(at)theafricangriot.com